Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Review of Ember by Madison Daniel - 5 stars!

Happy Wednesday!

The book I am reviewing today, is very good. I read it while ago, but until today haven't managed to review it. Finally the day is here, so I can share my thoughts of Ember by Madison Daniel. Enjoy!


Author: Madison Daniel
Title: Ember
Series: Ember #1
Publisher: Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing
Release date: 22nd of February 2012
Genre: YA: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 388 pages
Source: Free on Kindle purchase

Summary:

Love never dies...but it can kill.


Ember is the story of Max Valentine, a teenager with secret abilities and many inner demons. His life revolves around music and his love for it. When his father dies he seeks answers with his last living relative, his fathers brother Frank. Frank lives on the island of Maui and eagerly takes Max in as his own. Max soon learns that healing his past will be more difficult than he could have ever believed. Two major complications will tempt and torment him as he tries to make sense of his abilities.

The first temptation comes in the form of a mysterious island girl. Asia Lyn Michaels is rich, spoiled, angry and beautiful. Her path crosses with Max on the beach one afternoon, forever changing both of their lives. Max saves her life and she discovers his secret. From that moment on they are connected, no matter how much they fight it.

The second temptation will test Max’s very soul. Samantha Ann Summers is sweet, artistic, smart and confident. She will help Max find his smile again and maybe even heal his past mistakes. She is possibly his soul mate and Max will fight that with every fiber of his being.

Max’s temper and indecision with the girls will send in motion events that will cost him dearly. He will test the limits of his powers and the new relationship with his protective uncle. He will gain a powerful love and lose another.

My review:

Ember by Madison Daniel is a book which awakens lot of emotions! You will feel frustrated, happy, angry, disappointed! There is one thing you will not experience when reading Ember and that is indifference! It grabs you from the very beginning and keeps you spelled until end.

Ember is well-written and one of the reasons I really enjoyed it, was the fact that it was written from the male protagonist's point of view and the there was a love triangle were one boy and two girls were involved. It is quite rare in the young adult literature, that girls are competing for a boy's attention. The same fact made me also frustrated, but i will write more about it later in my review. Just bear with me, it's all worth it.

Ember was well written and I loved the idea of characters being able to influence the elements - fire and water. When I have been asked what superpower I would love to have, I would definitely pick the power of controlling one of the four elements and my preference would actually be fire. That is exactly what the her of the story - Max - can do.

Plot:

The story starts with Max Valentine (love the name by the way!) arriving to Maui, where he is starting to live with his uncle Frank and begins in studying in the local high school. On Maui he meets two girls- Asia and Sam, who are as different as girls can be. Max is attracted to both of them and he loves very different aspects of them. Their entangled relationships are heavily affected by Sam's ex-boyfriend Devon and by Asia's girlfriend Lucy and as a result you have an awesome story mixed with lots of emotions. When you add Max's ability to create and control fire fire, its a novel you don't want to miss!

Besides Asia and Sam, there are other things happening which are important for the story. Max is musician and is invited to play in a band with his new friends. Music plays an important role in the story and in the book. Each chapter starts with a specific song title, which actually characterizes the chapter perfectly! What I did, was listening to the song mentioned and it fitted greatly with the story development and mood. It is an interesting addition to the book in my opinion.

I absolutely loved the ending of Ember! Madison surprised me with the cliffhanger which was awesome! I am very exited to find about Sam's new abilities and also where did Asia go. The ending scared me and not because it was exactly scary, but because it gave a promise for very intrigued sequel and I am anxious to find out if the sequel can live up to the expectations. My expectations are very, very high now!

Characters:

Characters were the absolute strongest part of the story. Plot was great, but the characters are the ones creating the story. I really enjoyed all the characters and you will easily come to love or hate them. there is no middle way in Ember. I am well aware, that not all reader might like that characters bring out worst of them (readers), but I truly loved the fact, that the characters' actions and thoughts were raising emotional reactions from my side. Characters are strong, distinct, easy to remember, alive, colorful.

Max Valentine is one heck of a protagonist. He is lovable and then you can very easily to raise your eyebrows while reading and find yourself thinking: Max, WHAT are you doing???? You want to hug him and slap him at the same time. He is a nice young man who is facing a turning point of his life and in the beginning it is not easy for him to decide. The light which path to choose is coming after some dramatic events and even then he chooses the right thing - not to make any rush decisions. Max is growing a lot during the story and I can't wait to meet him again!

Samantha/Sam was my favorite girl in Ember. She was lovely, she knew what she wanted and how she wanted it. She is a kind of girl, whom you can trust and rely on. She is your typical girl from the neighborhood who is beautiful inside out. I hated when Max caused her pain. I definitely know whom I would love to see Max ending up with, but unfortunately that is not up to me to decide and I have a suspicion, that author will not make things so easy for reader. I am looking very much forward to see what will happen with her new found abilities and how that will influence the story development.

I did not like Asia. I think, that it is intentional from the author's side to create a very distinct likes and dislikes when it comes both to Sam and Asia. I am sure, that there are readers who love Asia, I am just not one of them. I don't hate her either, I felt sorry for her and her life. She was left behind by her family. She had the looks, but nobody really loves her until max shows up. She is alone and scared,  but very aware of how to use her looks to her advantage. She is not a bad girl, she is just misunderstood.

I really enjoyed the other characters as well. I loved Frank and Max's friends Kai and Marcus, they would be awesome to hang out with! Devon was devious and stupid.

Characters in Ember simply rock!

Generally:

Ember by Madison Daniel is amazing young adult book which is a must read! Read it!

5 Flowers!

5 stars.

Buy links:
amazon
Barnes and Noble


About the author:

Music is LIFE and the written word is our SOUL.


Music and writing have been my true ambition since I was a child. I have used music in every form possible; writing it, performing it, healing with it, etc. I call it my "life's soundtrack." I have always written in some form; from comic books to screenplays to short stories and now the new series "Ember." I have found a true passion for my stories and characters and am eager to share them with the world.

See you on the next book tour...M.D.

Links:
Facebook page
Facebook Ember Serie's page
Blog
Twitter

Happy reading!



1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I can't wait to share the next chapter in the Ember series with you and the world. Hide your hearts! ~ M

    ReplyDelete

There was an error in this gadget
;